Review Board 1.7.22


Add BigInteger and BigDecimal to Pig

Review Request #9012 - Created Jan. 17, 2013 and updated

Jonathan Coveney
add_bigint_bigdec
PIG-2764
Reviewers
pig
gates, herberts
pig-git
This patch adds big integer and big decimal support to Pig. It could use more tests, something I'd appreciate feedback on (but I wanted to make sure the core implementation is good)

 
Total:
17
Open:
6
Resolved:
11
Dropped:
0
Status:
From:
Description From Last Updated Status
I'm not sure what the contract of HBaseBinaryConverter is, which is why I didn't implement it. Theoretically, any Pig type ... Jonathan Coveney Jan. 18, 2013, 9:47 p.m. Open
None of the other calls in this class specified the charset, so I did not either. Is there a reason ... Jonathan Coveney Jan. 18, 2013, 9:47 p.m. Open
Odd. I think this is because of the preexisting presence of tabs in the file, which I will remove. Jonathan Coveney Jan. 18, 2013, 9:47 p.m. Open
This is janky, but to understand what is going on you need to look at DataReaderWriter to see how BigInteger ... Jonathan Coveney Jan. 18, 2013, 9:47 p.m. Open
Thus the TODO :S I completely punted on figuring out how big they are. I will try and tackle that ... Jonathan Coveney Jan. 18, 2013, 9:47 p.m. Open
Same comment here as earlier. It may need to be, but I'm unsure, and if it does, why doesn't it ... Jonathan Coveney Jan. 18, 2013, 9:47 p.m. Open
Review request changed
Updated (Jan. 22, 2013, 10:05 p.m.)
Ship it!
Posted (Jan. 22, 2013, 10:08 p.m.)
LGTM
Ship it!
Posted (Jan. 22, 2013, 10:08 p.m.)
LGTM
Posted (Jan. 25, 2013, 8:19 p.m.)
src/org/apache/pig/backend/hadoop/BigDecimalWritable.java:70: spelling error in TODO big/bit

There seem to be lots of LINT changes - not keeping tabs for newline only lines. Not sure if that is right? Plz check LINT.